Abraham named Weckwerth Professor in Healthcare Administration Leadership

									sph |
																			July 14, 2014

Jean Abraham, associate professor, has been named the first recipient of the Vernon E. Weckwerth Professor in Healthcare Administration Leadership.

More than 150 donors, alumni, students, faculty and university leaders attended a formal program and reception at Northrop Auditorium, May 12, where Abraham was conferred Weckwerth Professor.

Vernon Weckwerth, professor emeritus, was also honored for his longtime education career as School of Public Health faculty member and director of the ISP Off-Site Executive Study Programs in Healthcare Administration.

Abraham teaches Statistics for Health Management Decision-Making and is a three-time recipient of the MHA Class of 1981 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. In 2011 she received the Leonard A. Schuman Award for Excellence in Teaching, the highest teaching honor given by the School of Public Health. Her research interests are health economics and public policy formation. To date, she has published 40 peer-reviewed articles.

The Weckwerth Professorship was established by a generous donation from Richard Norling, MHA (‘75) and made possible by more than 200 donors. The endowed professorship is one of the most time-honored and treasured means of paying tribute to the contributions of prominent faculty leaders.

View event pictures

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement