Yuan Shao

EnHS Students Win American Industrial Hygiene Foundation Scholarship Awards

									Joy Archibald |
																			May 12, 2016

Two Environmental Health Sciences Industrial Hygiene students have received scholarship awards from the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation. The Board of Trustees of the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF) selected a total of 38 outstanding students nationwide to receive $73,700 in scholarships this year. The recipients have distinguished themselves through their commitment to their studies, their communities, and the profession of industrial hygiene.

“The level of passion, commitment, and dedication of this year’s recipients is unsurpassed,” said AIHF President Christine A. Hoehn, CIH. “I look forward to seeing each of them achieve their goals and take pride in knowing that the AIHF was able to support them in that endeavor.”

M.S. student Colton Porter received the Gary and Bonnie Olmstead Scholarship. Gary Olmstead spent many years as an industrial hygienist with General Mills and is Chair of the Advisory Board for the Midwest Center for Occupational Health and Safety (MCOHS).

Ph.D. student Yuan Shao has received the TSI/Arthur J. Abrams Memorial Scholarship.  The TSI/Arthur J. Abrams Memorial Scholarship was endowed in 1997 in memory of Arthur J. Abrams. This scholarship is to be rewarded to a first-time student (Bachelor of Science or Master’s Degree level).  Special consideration is also given to an individual returning to school for a career change to the industrial hygiene profession.

The recipients will be recognized on May 23, 2016 during the Opening Session at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) in Inner Harbor Baltimore, Maryland.

Yuan Shao
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement